PUBLIC HEARING NOTICE
Heritage Ranch Community Services District (District) will conduct a Public Hearing on April 20, 2023, beginning at 4:00 p.m. at the District office located at 4870 Heritage Road, Paso Robles, California. The Board of Directors will consider a new rate schedule for water and sewer services at this meeting. Recommendations for increased water and sewer rates phased in over five years will be considered. The Board of Directors is expected to make a final decision on rates at this meeting.
A consultant report and other material is available for review at the District office located at 4870 Heritage Road, Paso Robles, California, 93446, and below. Interested persons are invited to attend the Public Hearing or submit written comments prior to the Public Hearing.
Please contact the District office at (805) 227-6230 for more information.NOTICE of Public Hearing Water and Sewer Rates_2023HRCSD Rate Study Final Report 2-16-23 Approved HRCSD 5-year CIP August 2022
Rates, Fees & ChargesOverdue Accounts - Residential (SB998)
The HRCSD bills on a monthly basis. Consumption charges are based on the amount of water delivered through your meter. Water and wastewater usage charges are computed by unit. One unit is equal to 748 gallons.
The current billing charges are as of January 1, 2022. The minimum single-family residential home bill for Community Services District utilities is $62.99. The water portion of this bill is $27.24 and additional charges will be based on water usage. Each unit of water used is $3.56 a unit. One unit of water = 100 cubic feet or 748 gallons. The sewer portion of this bill is $35.75. Click link above (HRCSD Fee Schedule) to see all rates based on meter size. If you have any questions regarding your bill, please contact the District office.
Non-Delivery of Bill
Late or non-delivery of utility bills by the post office does not void the utility billing and payment policies. If the post office has not delivered your bill by the 5th of the month, please contact the District office.
Accounts are overdue if not paid in full by 4:00 pm on the 25th. Accounts will be assessed a 10% penalty on the overdue balance if not paid by the due date.
Disconnect & Reconnect Fees
If an account is not paid by the due date on the Late Notice, a notice will be placed at the property 48 hours before the utilities are disconnected. A fee of $10 will be posted to all account which receive a 48 hours notice. Accounts not paid within 48 business hours from the date and time posted on notice will be locked off for non-payment. If services are disconnected, a $50 disconnection fee will be posted to the account. If customer would like services reconnected, the past due balance along will all fees will need to be paid. Reconnection fee of $150 if reconnection occurs after business hours. This fee is in addition to any past due balance and fees posted to the account.
Any returned utility payments must be replaced with cash, money order or a credit card. A fee will be added to all returned payments. This fee starts at $25 for first offence and is increased to $35 for each subsequent returned payment.
An Account Start Up fee, currently in the amount of $25, will be required in advance in order to establish service by the owner. This is a non-refundable, one-time fee.
The property owner shall be solely responsible and liable for the payment of all District rates, charges and fees, even if the property is occupied by a tenant.
Accounts may be sent to a collection agency for recover of all overdue balances and penalties. The account will impose a 40% account reactivation fee for all accounts that are sent to the collection agencies and are then paid by the user and reconnected for service. This fee is in addition to account balance and reconnect fee.